top of page
Writer's picturesvermeulin

Most likely to grow

Updated: Jan 30, 2018

Since the first time I watched this remarkable film that my side-kick shared with me last year, I keep asking myself "why isn't this happening in more schools?" It is called: “most likely to succeed”. Many of you  probably already know it, but I would like to mention it because I find it very relevant and inspirational in many ways.

By teaching digital citizenship and how to integrate technology purposefully, we aim at preparing our students for the Future. Being able to create, to innovate and to think collaboratively, having a safe and meaningful use of technology, being critical thinkers and positive global contributors, getting ready for challenges that don’t exist yet are all essential dispositions and skills schools should be teaching by now….but many of them don’t, mostly because the focus is on passing standardised tests.

[if] you know more stuff, you’re going to be better off, for whatever sets of reasons. And the only way to get it is through the teacher,” he says in the film. “You don’t have to do that anymore. Today, content is ubiquitous, it’s free, it’s on every Internet-connected device, and it’s growing exponentially and changing constantly. Source: Thilman, James. “‘Most Likely To Succeed’: Schools Should Teach Kids To Think, Not Memorize.” The Huffington Post. TheHuffingtonPost.com, 24 Apr. 2015. Web. 19 Dec. 2016.


The dichotomy between, on one side many traditional curricula or Education systems designed to make students real “tests experts”and on the other side the types of capabilities that will be required in the Future can explain why we are struggling to seamlessly integrate technology and teach digital citizenship.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Let's move to the next level!

I suffered. I suffered and was bored for most of my school years. My torture was called lecture and my jail was my desk. However, I...

Σχόλια


bottom of page